We discussed the first issue of The Silver Coin on one of our April round-up podcast, and I’ve been reviewing each issue as it comes out, so I’m not going to say much about the series as it would be a lot of me repeating myself.

Illustrated by Michael Walsh and with each issue written by a different writer, The Silver Coin is a horror anthology featuring issues written by Chip Zdarsky, Ed Brisson, Kelly Thompson, Jeff Lemire and Michael Walsh. Each issue is its own standalone horror story and in the five issues released so far there’s something for every horror fan; a monkey paw story, a slasher story, supernatural horror, futuristic horror and a classic witch hunting story. Each united by one element that instigates the horror – The Silver Coin.

The Silver Coin is a bit of a whistle stop tour of the horror genre, and anthologies won’t be to everyone’s taste, but the sheer talent on display throughout the series so far and the unifying narrative of the coin, which we’re forever learning more about, really makes this something special. An absolute must read book for horror fans this spooky season.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s