Skybound announces Skybound Comet YA Graphic Novel Imprint

This past Thursday Image/Skybound announced that Skybound Comet will be launched in July 2022. Comet will be a graphic novel imprint aimed at Young Adult and Middle Grade readers.

Three books have been announced so far: The Walking Dead spinoff Clementine Book One which will be the start of a trilogy from Tillie Walden, the writer/artist behind Spinning and On A Sunbeam. Next up is Everyday Hero Machine Boy from Tri Vuong (The Strange Tales of Oscar Zahn) and Irma Kniivila (The Crosswind Cafe) in September 2022. The third is Sea Serpent’s Heir Book One, which will be the start of a fantasy trilogy from Mairghread Scott (Star Wars: Resistance, Guardians of the Galaxy) and Pablo Tunica  (TMNT Universe), in October 2022.

Here’s some quotes from Skybound’s press release:

“The goal of Skybound has always been to create the best comics that bring new readers to the medium we love so much, and Skybound Comet is the next step in that mission,” said Sean Mackiewicz, SVP, Editor-in-Chief, Skybound Entertainment. “We’ll be not only exploring pop culture phenomenon like The Walking Dead from a whole new perspective, but also bringing you entirely new worlds and new characters that we know will capture the hearts of readers of all ages.”  

“These three launches are only the beginning of our long-term graphic novel plan,” said Alex Antone, Senior Editor, Skybound Entertainment. “We’re committed to igniting the imaginations of young people with exciting new genre adventures from diverse storytellers for many years to come.”

Each of the protagonists will be making their debuts in the pages of Skybound X, a series which begins this July.

You can check out the full press release from Skybound here.

Vault to publish Rockstars: The Complete Series Collection

Originally published by Image in singles in 2016 and running for ten issues, the series’ first trade came out in 2017, but the second never made an appearance.

Here’s what Joe Harris and Meg Hutchinson’s series is all about:

“When a pattern of unsolved ‘groupie’ murders from the 1970s resumes in present-day Los Angeles, nobody makes the connection except Jackie Mayer, a rock nerd with a strange connection to music’s urban legends and lost history and a mysterious, almost magical ability to ‘see’ what most people miss, and determine and divine what’s going unreported. Together with muckraking music writer, Dorothy Buell, and his loyal cat, Skydog, they soon uncover an underground conspiracy involving a legendary band, demonic possession, and sacrifices to the dark gods of rock.”

Having only read the first half of the series I’m looking forward to this collection from Vault which is due for release this October.

Jeff Lemire & Andrea Sorrentino teaming up for ‘Primordial’

The awesome team that brought us Gideon Falls are getting back together again for Primordial, a “Mind-bending sci-fi collides with Cold War thriller”

There series is set to run for six issues, starting in September, here’s the blurb:

“In 1957, the USSR launched the dog, Laika, into Earth’s orbit. Two years later, the USA responded with two monkeys, Able and Baker. These animals never returned. But, unbeknownst to everyone, they did not die in orbit…they were taken. And now they are coming home.”

We’ve mentioned frequently that everyone here at Bigger Than Capes is a huge Jeff Lemire fan so needless to say we’re pretty excited for this one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s